X

Festival Greeting



STEFAN FICHTNER
Festival director

Dear friends of the Saas-Fee Filmfest, energy doesn't go to waste ... Imagine the collected energy of a beautiful, blooming Saas-Fee larch, even though it may be only as old as cinema itself. Say 114 years. Snap shot! Imagine all this energy like a space which stores the wishes, the dreams, the fears and the desires of the people, the tree experienced. This is cinema! And now we open our eyes, it is dark. What a coincidence, we are seated inside Cinema Rex, how nice, it is still existing! The projector starts to run, it's the opening night of the 6. Saas-Fee Filmfest, where all these collected stories come to the big screen. A quick round view, how nice to meet you all again! The festival adds on to these stories and makes the energy grow even more. From the first synapse over glances, handshakes, screams of joy up to the annual reunion and the welcoming of festival newcomers. Warmest thanks to all of you, who support the festival, without you it wouldn't be possible! All my best wishes for a long life to film, the Saas-Fee Filmfest, Cinema Rex and the Saas-Fee larches, Film ab!



TOMMASO TOCCI
​Co-Programmer

The cinema of today makes the climb up to Saas-Fee once again in 2019, settling in our lovely village to bring us meditations on identity, tough explorations of grief and exciting journeys of discovery. 

Quite appropriately, our home turf of Switzerland contributes two films that investigate the domestic despair of nuclear families from within. Home is defined by the tension between a past returning and a dissolving future, exposing the lies and fears that each gender must reckon with.

France calls our ear to frequencies of drama that are not too dissimilar, focusing on the mutual responsibility that binds mothers and sons, uncles and nieces. Meanwhile in Germany, the space of hotels and rooms becomes a prison of the mind, which requires a more primal, uncomplicated approach to find a way out.

And where the voice of Austrian cinema reaches Saas-Fee as one single entity, it is a challenging, arresting body and soul that demands audience. Finally my native Italy, a country ever in tumult, is well represented by two films opposite in spirits and goals, though each peculiar in its own right. And may the question mark in one of the titles, dreamy and evocative in its melancholy, be an invitation for the Saas-Fee audience to answer the call from our 5 festival countries. Film ab!

X

Festival Greeting



STEFAN FICHTNER
Festivalleiter

Liebe Freunde des Saas-Fee Filmfestes, Energie geht nicht verloren ... Stellen wir uns einmal die gesammelte Energie einer schönen strotzenden Saaser Lärche vor, und sei sie nur so alt wie der Film selbst. Runde 114 Jahre. Momentaufnahme! Stellen wir uns diese Energie vor wie einen Raum, in dem die Wünsche, Träume, Ängste und Sehnsüchte der Menschen aufgehoben sind, die der Baum erlebt hat. Das ist Kino! Und jetzt machen wir die Augen auf, es ist dunkel. Was für ein Zufall, wir sitzen im Cinema Rex, wie schön, dass es noch da ist! Der Projektor beginnt zu laufen, es ist die Eröffnungsnacht des 6. Saas-Fee Filmfestes, wo all die gesammelten Geschichten auf die grosse Leinwand finden. Ein Blick in die Runde, wie schön, euch alle wiederzusehen! Auf dem Festival setzen sich die Geschichten fort und die Energie wächst weiter. Von der ersten Synapse über Blicke, Handschläge, Freudensschreie, bis hin zum alljährlichen Wiedersehen und zum Willkommenheissen von Festivalneulingen. Vielen herzlichen Dank an euch alle, die ihr das Festival unterstützt und mittragt, ohne euch wäre es nicht möglich! Ich wünsche dem Film, dem Saas-Fee Filmfest, dem Cinema Rex und den Saaser Lärchen ein langes Leben, Film ab!



TOMMASO TOCCI
​Co-Programmer​

Das Kino von heute macht sich auch 2019 an den Aufstieg nach Saas-Fee und lässt sich in unserem wundervollen Dorf nieder mit Betrachtungen über Identität, Erkundungsgängen in den Kummer und aufregenden Entdeckungsreisen.

Aus dem Gastgeberland kommen zwei Filme, die die häusliche Verzweiflung von Kleinfamilien aus der Innenperspektive untersuchen. Das Zuhause definiert sich durch die Spannung zwischen einer zurückkehrenden Vergangenheit und einer sich auflösenden Zukunft. Lügen und Ängste werden blossgelegt.  

Frankreich lenkt unser Ohr auf eine nicht unähnliche Frequenz von Drama. Der Fokus liegt auf der Verantwortung, die Mütter und Söhne und Onkel und Nichten verbindet. Währenddessen werden in Deutschland die Räume in Hotels und Zimmern zu gedanklichen Gefängnissen, aus denen es nur einen ursprünglichen, unkomplizierten Ausweg gibt.

Die Stimme aus Österreich erreicht Saas-Fee in einem einzigen Werk: ein herausforderndes, fesselndes Wesen, das sein Publikum verlangt. Mein heimatliches Italien schliesslich, das sich immer im Tumult befindet,  ist gut gespiegelt in zwei sehr gegensätzlichen Filmen. Mag das Fragezeichen in einem der beiden Titel, eine Einladung sein an das Publikum in Saas-Fee, den Ruf unserer 5 Festivalländer zu beantworten, Film ab!